DUI – First Or Repeat Offense
An Illinois first offender DUI for operators 21 or over, at its least severe, is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 364 days in jail and up to $2500 in fines. Every first offender sentence must include completion of a Victim Impact Panel, as well as DUI education and/or counseling pursuant to an evaluation.
A DUI conviction will result in the revocation of your license.
Court Supervision For First-Time Offenders
First offenders are eligible for court supervision, which in Illinois is not a conviction. Therefore, it does not revoke your driving privileges. It is important to note that court supervision is available only once in a lifetime. You should be certain that your case is handled by experienced DUI attorneys.
The most serious DUI cases are charged as felonies. A felony DUI can result in a lengthy prison sentence. Depending upon your driving history and the facts leading to your arrest, you may be charged with an Aggravated DUI. Reasons for enhanced felony charges include prior DUI convictions or Driving Under The Influence:
- Without insurance
- While your license is suspended or revoked
- Or causing injury to another person
At The Law Offices of Charles Rohde & Pierina Infelise, P.C., our attorneys have defended hundreds of Illinois drivers charged with DUI. To schedule a consultation, call 630-478-9924 or email The Law Offices of Charles Rohde & Pierina Infelise, P.C., through this website. Se habla español.